Badger Queens

2024 WI State USBC Badger Queens Tournament Recap

This past weekend, the 2024 WI State USBC Badger Queens Tournament was a spectacular showcase of skill and competition at Village Bowl & Social in Menomonee Falls. With a strong field of 86 competitors, the event highlighted the talent and determination of women bowlers across the state.

The tournament kicked off with six games of grueling qualifying rounds, where each participant battled for a spot in the top five. The competition was fierce, but it was Alyssa Pierson who led the qualifiers with an impressive score of 1461. She was followed by Stephanie Zager with 1388, Amanda Turner at 1376, Laura Mattila scoring 1360, and Jen Grisham rounding out the top five with 1354.

The stepladder finals were filled with dramatic turns and intense matches. Jen Grisham, starting as the fifth seed, showcased her resilience and skill by defeating Laura Mattila with a strong score of 226-188 in the first game. She continued her remarkable run by narrowly edging out Amanda Turner 204-201 in a nail-biting second game. However, her streak ended in the third game when Stephanie Zager took the win with a score of 224-191.

The championship match was a thrilling conclusion to the tournament. Alyssa Pierson, demonstrating why she was the top qualifier, faced off against Stephanie Zager. Both bowlers were exceptional, but Pierson clinched the title with a compelling 236-216 victory. Her triumph not only earned her the $1300 first place purse but also a coveted entry into the 2025 national USBC Queen's Tournament, marking her as a significant contender to watch in the coming year.

Special recognition was given during the tournament with the Presidents Award for the high game during qualifying. This honor was shared by Kim Hoffmann and Stephanie Zager, who both scored a remarkable 279 game, setting a high standard for excellence in the tournament.

The 2024 WI State USBC Badger Queens Tournament was not just a competition but a celebration of the spirit and skill of women bowlers. Congratulations to all participants, especially Alyssa Pierson, for their outstanding performances and sportsmanship throughout the event. We look forward to seeing more from these talented bowlers in the future.

2024 Queen Alyssa Pierson

Jen Grisham 3rd Place

Laura Mattila 5th place

President's Award Winner & 2nd Place - Stephanie Zagar

Amanda Turner 4th Place

Kim Hoffman Pres Award

Past Tournament Results